Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Women's Squash Claims Walker Cup Consolation Finals

Photo Courtesy of Jonas Powell '18
Photo Courtesy of Jonas Powell '18

MIDDLETOWN, Conn. – The 23rd-ranked Wesleyan University women's squash team won the Consolation Finals of the Walker Cup (C Division) at the 2019 CSA Women's National Team Championships. The Cardinals lost to No. 18 Dickinson on Friday, 8-1, but responded with a 6-3 victory over No. 22 Hamilton the following day and a 7-2 win over No. 21 Mount Holyoke in the Consolation Finals.

The Cardinals' 2018-19 team season has come to an end, while the CSA National Individual Championships will take place Friday-Sunday, March 1-3 in Providence, R.I. Wesleyan concluded the season with a 9-11 record.


  • In their first match of the weekend against Dickinson on Friday, the Cardinals picked up one win as Natasha Feenstra claimed a four-set victory over Aya Sobhy in the No. 5 position.
  • Aditi Prasad, who was recently named a First Team All-NESCAC selection, lost a tough five-set match in the No. 1 spot by scores of 13-11, 9-11, 11-7, 8-11, 13-11.
  • Wesleyan responded nicely the following day and defeated conference foe Hamilton, 6-3.
  • It was the second meeting between the Cardinals and Continentals this season, with Wesleyan taking both matches.
  • Prasad and Ananya Vir swept the No. 1 and 2 positions, respectively. In total, the Cardinals swept four matches, while Ali Imperiale and Annie Roach prevailed in five-set thrillers. Imperiale rallied from a 2-0 deficit (2-11, 9-11, 13-11, 13-11, 11-4) and Roach came back from a 2-1 hole (11-5, 11-13, 8-11, 11-4, 11-6).
  • On Sunday, Wesleyan won the No. 3 through No. 9 positions to claim the Consolation Finals.
  • The Cardinals swept the No. 4 and No. 6 spots, while four other matches went four sets and the No. 3 slot went five as Josie Russ defeated Ragini Ghose in a thriller (11-13, 11-5, 9-11, 11-2, 11-5).
  • Feenstra highlighted the weekend for the Cardinals as she went 3-0 in the No. 5 position.
  • Imperiale, Premutico, and Roach all went 2-1.