Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Twenty-Eight Cardinals Named to NIRC All-Academic Team

Photo by Gregory Wagner
Photo by Gregory Wagner

MIDDLETOWN, Conn. – Twenty-eight members of Wesleyan University crew were honored by the National Invitational Rowing Championships (NIRC) recently as they were named to the 2018 NIRC All-Academic Team.

For a student-athlete to be recognized to the NIRC All-Academic Team they must have completed one full-year at their institution (freshmen and first-year transfers are not eligible), maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.35 and be recognized as a varsity letter winner. 

On the men's side, the Cardinals were represented by Andrew Daggon '20, Luke Forsthoefel '20, Will Humphrey '20, Ben Lynch '19, Harry Malec '19, Aviv Preminger '19, Emma Siegenberg '18, Theo Simko '19, Chris Steidl '18 and Chris Wyckoff '18.

Earning All-Academic honors on the women's side were Clara Babbott-Ward '20, Jemma Blazina '20, Rachael Crunkleton '20, Rachelle Flowers '19, Nicole Gershberg '18, Eleanor Highleyman '19, Amanda Molitor '18, Sarah Osborn '19, Sarah Paulson '19, Olivia Pearson '19, Emma Porrazzo '19, Allison Quintana '19, Monica Rao '19, Nicole Rizzuto '20, Sophia Shoulson '18, Livia Wallick '20, Sonja Welch '20 and Hannah Xu '20.

Wesleyan women's crew qualified for the NCAA Championships for the third-consecutive season and first time as a team since 2014. The Cardinals finished fifth overall in the Varsity 8 at the national regatta and fourth in the Second Varsity 8.