Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Queenan and Miller-Lewis Named to NIRC All-Stewards Team

Queenan and Miller-Lewis Named to NIRC All-Stewards Team

WORCESTER, Mass. – Mike Queenan '17 of Wesleyan University men's crew, and Ava Miller-Lewis '17 of women's crew, were named to the 2017 National Invitational Rowing Championships (NIRC) All-Stewards Team, while 23 Cardinals were named to the NIRC All-Academic Team, as announced Thursday by USRowing and the NIRC.


Queenan and Miller-Lewis earned their second postseason award of the week, as they were both named First Team All-NESCAC selections a day ago. Both student-athletes were also named to the All-Academic Team as well.

For a student-athlete to be recognized to the NIRC All-Academic Team, they must have completed one full-year at their institution (freshmen and first-year transfers are not eligible), maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.35 and be recognized as a varsity letter winner.

Twelve men were named to the NIRC All-Academic Team; Liam Bristol '18, Thad Brown '17, Matthew DiGiovanni '18, Ben Lynch '19, Harrison Malec '19, Colin Mattox '17, Aviv Preminger '19, Emma Siegenberg '18, Queenan, JD Schink '17, Theo Simko '19 and Chris Wycoff '18.

On the women's side, 11 Cardinals earned All-Academic Team praise; Ceara Maria Burns '17, Rachelle Flowers '19, Elisa Greenberg '18, Emma Halter '17, Avery Kimmell '17, Miller-Lewis '17, Amanda Molitor '18, Sarah Osborn '19, Olivia Pearson '19, Allison Quintana '19 and Kate Suslovic '17.

The women's crew Varsity 8 boat earned an at-large bid to the 2017 NCAA Division III Women's Rowing Championships, which will be held May 26-27 in West Windsor, N.J. It is the second year in a row that the Cardinals' V8 qualified for the postseason.