Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Men’s Cross Country Starts 2017 with Convincing Victory at Wesleyan Invitational

Photo by Lianne Yun '18
Photo by Lianne Yun '18

MIDDLETOWN, Conn. – The Wesleyan University men's cross country team earned the top-seven slots on the individual side at the Wesleyan Invitational Friday, as the Cardinals opened their 2017 campaign with a commanding 15-50 triumph over Post in Middletown, Conn.


  • Senior standout Tate Knight garnered individual-champion honors for Wesleyan out of 21 runners with a time of 21:33.21 on the 4-mile course. The Bloomfield, Conn. native is coming off an outstanding 2016 season in which he placed 30th overall at the NCAA Division III New England Regional Championship and 26th at the NESCAC Championship.
  • Sophomores Conner Sexton and Grant van Inwegen earned second- and third-place honors, respectively, clocking times of 21:37.47 and 21:40.92. Junior Shota Nakamura, who cracked the Cardinals' top-four twice last fall, was the fourth runner to cross the finish line with a time of 21:48.86.
  • Junior Josh Signore, sophomore Adam Linsky and freshman Benjamin Cahill rounded out the squad's top-seven finishers, tallying times of 22:21.73, 22:33.47 and 22:37.37, respectively. Signore put together a strong 2016 season, as the Bristol, Conn. native leaped into Wesleyan's top-five on two occasions.
  • Also compiling noteworthy performances for Wesleyan on Friday were seniors John Henry Vansant (22:57.04) and Connor Cobb (23:00.99), sophomores Noah Langat (22:49.60) and Kevin McMorrow (23:03.42), freshmen Tommy Doyle (23:20.18), Matt Frishkoff (23:43.13) and Nathan Gamble (23:46.95), and junior Frank Tucci (23:01.91).
  • Ryan Acey was the top-performer for the Eagles, as the Plainville, Conn. native placed ninth overall with a mark of 22:48.91.


  • The Cardinals have their sights set on the Paul Short Run on Friday, Sept. 29, in Bethlehem, Pa. Wesleyan will compete in the Little Three meet on Oct. 14 in Williamstown, Mass., and the NESCAC Championship on Oct. 28 in New Gloucester, Maine.