Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

No. 28 Men's Squash Wins Conroy Cup Consolation Finals

Photo Courtesy of Jonas Powell '18
Photo Courtesy of Jonas Powell '18

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - The 28th-ranked Wesleyan University men's squash team won the Conroy Cup (D Division) Consolation Finals at the 2019 CSA Men's National Team Championships on Sunday. The Cardinals went 2-1 at the tournament and defeated No. 30 Haverford, 8-1, in the consolation finals. Wesleyan also defeated No. 32 Stanford, 3-2, in the consolation semifinals on Saturday and lost to No. 29 Connecticut College on Friday in the quarterfinals, 5-4.

The Cardinals' 2018-19 team season has come to an end, while the CSA National Individual Championships will take place Friday, March 1 - Sunday, March 3 in Providence, R.I. Wesleyan concluded the year strong and after a 2-12 start, the Cardinals went 6-1 in their final seven matches.


  • In the quarterfinals on Friday, Wesleyan was edged by the Camels, 5-4. It was the third meeting between the two teams with Conn. College winning two of those matchups. 
  • Sean Choi and Yahya Ladiwala won in the No. 1 and No. 2 positions, respectively. Choi won in four sets and Ladiwala swept Billy Fleurima.
  • Wesleyan also picked up wins from Peter DeLalio and Scott Ji. DeLalio swept the No. 7 position and Ji rallied from a 2-1 deficit to win a thrilling five-set match in the No. 9 spot. 
  • The following day, the Cardinals rallied in the consolation bracket with a commanding 8-1 victory over Stanford. Wesleyan won the No. 2 through No. 9 positions with five sweeps, two four-set matches, and one in five sets.
  • Ladiwala, DeLalio and Ji all picked up wins for the second day in a row.
  • It was a similar story on Sunday as the Cardinals cruised to an 8-1 win against Haverford in the finals of the consolation bracket. 
  • Choi and Ladiwala claimed 3-0 sweeps in the No. 1 and No. 2 spots, respectively.
  • Wesleyan also won the No. 4 through No. 9 spots with three sweeps, two four-set matches and one in five.
  • Ladiwala, DeLalio and Ji won all three matches they competed in at the tournament.