Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Wesleyan Men’s Lacrosse Receives 2017 James “Ace” Adams Sportsmanship Award

Wesleyan Men’s Lacrosse Receives 2017 James “Ace” Adams Sportsmanship Award

MIDDLETOWN, Conn. – The 2017 Wesleyan University men's lacrosse team was recognized with the James "Ace" Adams Sportsmanship Award, which was established in 2006 and is given annually to the college or university in each of the 11 officiating districts whose coaches, players, and fans exhibit the best sportsmanship throughout the season.  

College varsity Divisions I, II, and III (NCAA), as well as Division I and II (MCLA) programs,  are eligible for consideration, with the winners selected by voting among each districts' officials from the National Intercollegiate Lacrosse Officials Association. Wesleyan was chosen as one of the elite 11 schools from a pool of 584 teams. 

"It is an incredible honor for our team to be recognized with the prestigious Ace Adams Sportsmanship Award," said Head Coach John Raba. "This truly wouldn't be possible without the incredible dedication, time and effort of our players, coaches and the incredible support staff at Wesleyan. Our program is committed to not only playing lacrosse at the highest level but to treat the game and our opponents and officials with the utmost respect." 

The award exemplifies the tradition of sportsmanship in lacrosse displayed by Ace Adams, who amassed 284 collegiate victories during a coaching career that spanned across five decades and included stints at the United States Military Academy (Army), University of Pennsylvania and University of Virginia.

At the time of his retirement in 1992, Adams had the most wins of any active NCAA Division I coach. He was inducted into the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 1975.