Sestak & Harris Earn All-American Honors, Sestak Tabbed Finalist for Concannon Award

Sestak & Harris Earn All-American Honors, Sestak Tabbed Finalist for Concannon Award

MIDDLETOWN, Conn. – Juniors Tim Sestak and Walker Harris of the Wesleyan men's ice hockey team were named All-Americans as selected by the members of the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) and announced by the AHCA on Thursday evening at the Frozen Four Banquet. Sestak was also tabbed a 2019 Joe Concannon Award finalist as announced by The Gridiron Club of Greater Boston.

<< AHCA All-American Release >> // << Joe Concannon Award Release >>

Sestak was named to the All-American Second Team following an impressive campaign in goal for the Cardinals. During the regular season, Sestak was tabbed NESCAC Player of the Week three times over a four-week span, before earning NESCAC Player of the Year at the conclusion of the season. He led the conference in save percentage (.946), while ranking second in goals against average (1.65) and finished the season ranked third in DII/DIII in save percentage and shutouts (seven). During the NESCAC tournament, Sestak recorded the most saves in tournament history with 65 after tallying his 1,000th career-save on January 26th. Sestak was also tabbed one of six finalists for the 19th Joe Concannon Award, which is presented annually to the best American-born college hockey player in New England at the Division II/III level.

Harris earned All-American Third Team accolades after guiding Wesleyan's offense this season. He earned All-NESCAC First Team laurels this year after leading the conference in points (31), goals (19) and game-winning goals (five). Harris scored at least one point in 21 contests, with a season-high four points against Anna Maria. Along with Sestak, Harris was among 25 players named as semifinalists for the 19th Joe Concannon Award.

Sestak and Harris join Keith Buehler '14 as the only three All-Americans in Wesleyan men's hockey history. Buehler was the first to earn the laurel when he was named to the Second Team in 2012-13.