Men's Crew Wins the Class of 2003 Cup

Photo by Arya Alizadeh
Photo by Arya Alizadeh

WORCESTER, Mass. – The men's crew Varsity 8 and second V8 won their respective races at the Class of 2003 Cup on Saturday, while the Varsity 4 came in second.

The Varsity 8 (Theo Simko, Will Humphrey, Hayden Galusza, Ben Lynch, Brendan Joyce, Jack Sheffer, Teddy Kennedy, Harrison Malec and Dominik Sobieszek) clocked in at 6:10.00, which was good for first-place. The time was six seconds ahead of the next boat (WPI, 6:16.28). 

The 2V8 composed of Daniel Helfman, Ethan Ching, Kenny McKee-Proctor, Andrew Daggon, Emmett Nunes, Jimmy McShane, Andrew Martin, Drew Myers and Shakeel Jessa, registered a time of 6:23.92 to win the entire event, just three seconds ahead of NESCAC foe Colby.

The Varsity 4 (Haley Fish, Benjamin Spencer, Hudson Dore, Luke Dewees and Jackson Heins) earned runner-up honors, clocking in at 7:47.07. WPI won the race with a time of 7:36.60.